Selfacy – The Life and Times of Marcus A. Thompson, 1.1

Heya! I was looking for something a little more casual to do alongside my ISBI, so I decided to start a (very relaxed) selfacy in another of MySimRealty’s worlds (to which I added a few lots from MTS and MSR), the gorgeous Sim Lau Isles. I even took the time to use Nraas’ Tempest mod to set up a climate similar to that of Havana, Cuba.

Check below the cut for (relaxed) variations on Pinstar’s rules and to meet the founder, my self-sim, Marcus Thompson.

  • Important Rule Changes!
    • First of all, I absolutely despise babies, so I will be aging all babies up immediately. I have adjusted lifespan to account for this (it also matches up with my seasons… kind of). You can see my aging and seasons settings at this link.
    • I will be making use of the Nraas Relatively mod during Sims’ awake hours, set to .75 speed. This should only make skilling nominally quicker. What this is really about is the fact that I hate how long sims take to calculate how to perform the next action in their queue and it kills the game for me. Using a time scaling mod such as Relativity mitigates that for me.
    • Same-sex couples may conceive genetic children (Pollinate)
    • 25% chance of pregnancy during risky
    • I’m not doing points.
    • My founder will, instead of buying a large lot, buy a small starter home. From there I will decrease his funds to 0 and he will have to work his way up from there.

And that’s it! Now onto the fun stuff… let’s meet Marcus! I’m aware he looks quite effeminate but I *am* transgender. Just because I haven’t actually started taking pills yet doesn’t mean my sim shouldn’t be a guy, but I wanted him to still look a lot like I do now. The mauve dye is one I had sitting in my bathroom the last few weeks, but I’ve been waiting on using it while I was unemployed.

  • Personality
    • Bookworm
    • Brooding
    • Hopeless Romantic
    • Neurotic
    • Shy
  • Astrology
    • Sagittarius
  • Favorites
    • Spaghetti
    • Purple
    • Electronica (It’s jazz in reality but that’s not an option in 3, sadly. I miss the jazz station from 2.)
  • LTW: Distinguished Director (I normally do Illustrious Author or Professional Author, but those are awful easy)

Marcus has moved into Hortensia Cabin, which I have placed on the map (see below). It’s actually a nice little place, but we won’t be throwing parties anytime soon. His funds are set to 0, and we are ready to begin.

He started off by immediately picking up a job in the film career, then it was off to the library to work on that writing skill.

Terry Vickers here has quite the beak. Marcus is attracted to it because it reminds him of his favorite band, Rush. This is good, as Terry’s gender preference is undecided and he’s also an Aquarius, a compatible sign. Let’s get our flirt on.

Terry accepts, and a (hopefully) wonderful romance begins. They are now going steady, so we invite him over for a little Woohoo.

Then it’s time for a meager dinner of yogurt before bed, despite it still being early. His job starts at 7 am and I like to make sure I can fill all my Sims’ needs before their workdays.

Terry’s apparently a witch. I had no idea until he started practicing magic in my house. I don’t look at my relationship panel as often as I should.

Loving the randomly rolled career outfit.

You do you, EA. You do you.

After his first day of work he promptly visits the comic book store to spend his hard earned simoleons. He gets some cred with the nerd crowd while he’s there, too.

By the way, since I have cmomoney’s Cigarette Smoking mod, and am in real life a smoker, my self-sim has a pack as well. Let the lecturing begin.

His previous hairstyle wouldn’t stick for some reason, so I went with this one instead.

My sims have such poor taste in men, guys. I’m glad that isn’t the case with me (*cough*anymore*cough*).

His second day at work and he’s already promoted to Level 2, Best Boy.

This chick tried to rob him. Luckily he goes to bed early enough that his energy bar was full when the burglar alarm woke him.

And here’s the cop that showed up, Officer Santiago Snodgrass. He’s darn cute. It’s not cheating if you’re going to break up, right?

Good at his job too. Two for two.

Another evening spent at the comic book shop. Lots of reading, because bookworm.

Broke up with Terry via text. Don’t judge me, it’s better than he deserves.

Matthew Leeman, his straight best friend and coworker. He happened to be at the comic shop so Marcus asked him to play some videogames.

Another promotion!

Working in the kitchen making a real meal (for once). I love to cook in reality and I am striving to keep him pretty close to the kind of person I am.

That salad is Instagram-worthy.

I never learned how to play the violin in reality, though I would have liked to. Now I have neither the time nor the patience to learn.

To kick off the weekend, Marcus has a lovely shoreside dinner in the rain (shrimp cocktail), followed by a visit to the dive bar by his house, the Lonely Wolf, mostly just because it’s indoors.

After cleaning up the place on Saturday, he does some light reading, then heads to Teal Seal, an exclusive lounge, looking snazzy in his suit, vest, and tie.

He played for a while on the lounge’s back deck as the sun set over the isles, bathing everything in a soft, golden glow.

Sunday was a writing day, bringing his skill to an impressive level 5.

I think that’s a good place to stop this one folks!

  • Skills
    • Handiness 1
    • Social Networking 1
    • Writing 5
    • Violin 3
  • Net Worth: 11,061

Stay tuned for alternating Grof ISBI/Selfacy posts on Tuesdays and Thursdays!

2 thoughts on “Selfacy – The Life and Times of Marcus A. Thompson, 1.1

Leave a comment